top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewelovebigbooks

Do you like champagne?

I’ve never fully appreciated champagne, but I also haven’t had good champagne.

But this book! You guys

Champagne Widows by Rebecca Rosenberg is EXACTLY why I love historical books! This book makes me wish I was better at writing reviews!

Barbe-Nicole is a widow during the 1800s when France has Napoleon Bonaparte starting wars all over Europe. I just loved reading about this time period! So fascinating reading about Napoleon and his love for Josephine and how the people in France felt about him during this time. Barbe-Nicole is a recent widow but she has the gift of Le Nez (an uncanny sense of smell) and she is determined to follow through with her dream of starting a winery. She struggles with the Napoleon Code which prohibits women from owning a business, she is pressured by her father and her former father-in-law, and love interests to just be a good widow and remarry.

I didn’t know going into this book, that this is based on real people, I just adored Barbe-Nicole and all of her amazing ambition! And have now made it my goal to try Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin champagne asap!!

Champagne Widows published on August 17, 2021, it’s available on Kindle Unlimited and you can find this on our Amazon Storefront!

Thank you @katerockbooktours for this awesome gifted copy!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page